How to See the Blessings

There are so many scriptures related to being thankful. The best way to stay positive in trying times is to be thankful. When you focus on the good things in life, you feel better. Focusing on positives and what is good improves your outlook and makes you feel better. Obviously I am thankful for my husband, children and house, but sometimes as I’m cleaning up after everyone my mind wanders into a place of pride, discontentment, and irritation. I lose my thankfulness, and instead I wonder why my husband can’t pick up a sock or empty cup. And when the washer gets clogged I feel relieved that I have an excuse to not do laundry until my hubby can fix it. So here’s how I see the blessings when I’m not feeling blessed. 

I think about the things that are good in my life. I’m thankful that I have someone to pick up after, instead of being lonely. My husband is my best friend and love of my life. I’m so grateful I have him. Im I’m thankful for cheerios on the floor because it means my baby is alive and well, home with me. I’m thankful for my three year-old’s strong personality because one day he will be a great leader, and his strong opinion means he will take a stand against things he opposes. I’m thankful I can do laundry – I have the physical ability to do so and don’t have to go to a laundromat or down to the river like in third-world countries. I’m thankful for food to clean up because that means my family has been blessed with enough to eat. The blessings can be found even in the mess and frustration of life.

Like many moms I get frustrated with the daily mess, to do lists, and crying children, but I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else. God has given me a beautiful family and more provision than I could ask for. What are you thankful? What are your blessings in the midst of chaos. Please share.

Leave a Reply

